EGX September 2016

In case you didn’t know, I attended EGX (Eurogamer Expo) last week for the first time. Here’s a roundup of what I got up to.


PlayStation VR

Sadly, Microsoft nor Nintendo turned up this year, so it was pretty much PlayStation and indie games. Of course, a big part of the upcoming and exciting stuff for PlayStation is PlayStation VR. At first, I wasn’t too impressed with the VR, especially with the Oculus and the Hive. After E3, I was little bit more interested, but only a little. But after EGX, I definitely want to get it.

My first experience with PlayStation VR was with a game called Battlezone. I had never heard of it before and we only lined up for it because “it looked like Tron”. Essentially, you’re situated in an aircraft, put in a simulation and shoot a lot of things – definitely my kind of gig. It was vibrant and fast, which made me worried I would experience motion sickness or just not like it at all, but I really enjoyed it. I only played it for 10 minutes, and got a little look at some further stages you can explore, so I’m pretty excited.

I also got to play Fairpoint – another game I hadn’t heard much of and only really saw of the posters walking into the NEC. It’s a first-person shooter in which you hold a replica gun (similar to the PlayStation Move) and move along with the analogue stick. I know – I wanted to just move around out of my own free will too, but I eventually got to used to it. I don’t know much of the story (which I kinda of actually like) but it seems like to me you’re gathering data from a incident that ended badly which I gathered from the robotic voice saying “Process complete” and then teleporting me somewhere else. But one word of warning when playing this game – watch out for heights and ignore what the guy said to me which was, “Are you scared of spiders?”.


Sharp Shooters

There were many – unsurprisingly – shooters at EGX. With the popular Overwatch at the PlayStation section as well as the tournaments (we entered in one but sadly lost the first round). There was also the new Call of Duty game (Infinite Warfare, I believe it’s called) and the Pre-Alpha of Battlefield 1 (I’ve already written an article on it, so check it out if you’re interested). I also tried a game I’ve never played before – Sniper Elite 4.

The title says it all – you play as a sniper and you stealthily take out the enemies to complete the objective. I played it on controller, but even then it wasn’t too bad. I messed up a lot at the beginning, but once I learnt the area and the placement of the enemies, I got the hang of it. The main things to remember: cover, marking and holding breath. This game has some gore-filled, slow-mo kill shots.


Triple A-Titles

I think EGX’s biggest attraction was most likely the demo for Final Fantasy XV. Again, I’ve written an article on this game before so I won’t go into too much more detail. But did it live up to my expectations? Absolutely – and more. Will I be buying it when it comes out? I’ve already pre-ordered it.

Tournaments were held for Street Fighter 5 and Tekken 7, as well as a movie theater for Mafia III showing a 20 minute demo complete with free popcorn. Let’s not forgot the demo for Dishonored 2, co-op play of Rise of the Tomb Raider, Hitman, Kingdom Hearts 2.8 and World of Final Fantasy.


Worthy Mentions

There was an awesome retro section towards the back of the hall which had every awesome console that was created, and even some before that – I even played on the SNES for the first time. It was an awesome little addition and tying the old gaming world with the new.

I played a couple of indie games, the one I remember the most is PikuMiku – you play as this little…round thing that ragdolls when it falls, can kick things and even put things on it’s head. It’s definitely a puzzlely, questy game with a twist of good humor.


Check out my vlogs for EGX very soon. In the meantime, take a look at a gallery we conjured up:

Leave a Reply

