Overwatch Olympics 2016

41Jhg1UypfSljaq0JYfpITlAqlQNe1BwLn6SMwHCzX0

I was pretty shocked about this game – I had never heard of it until I watched some YouTubers stream the beta earlier this year. From then on, the game seemed to be everywhere – at MCM London Comic Con in May, people wearing Overwatch snapbacks, streams taking over Twitch – I saw it everywhere. And of course, I own the game (there are a couple of stream highlight videos on my YouTube channel here). With it’s success in such a short time scan, it didn’t surprise me that Blizzard announced a new themed Brawl mode and special items tied in with the Rio Olympics (which actually started yesterday).

overwatch-funko-pop-figures_1280.0

There are also Overwatch Pop! Vinyls – I have the Widowmaker one

But wait – you’ve never heard of Overwatch before? What is wrong with you? Have you been living under a rock?

overwatch-open-beta

I hope you have heard of it, unless you wouldn’t be part of the near 10 million cool kids group

Overwatch is a first person shooter competitive game with 22 characters that scan 4 classes – offensive, defensive, support and tank. Each character has their own weapon – or weapons for some – along with abilities such as ever-ending sprinting and self-healing. Every character also has a unique build up ability that can turn the game upside its head. The game is incredibly addictive in gameplay to improve, clutch victories and mastering of many diverse characters. And the fact that you can customize characters with outfits, voice lines, victory poses, sprays and player icons.

maxresdefault

Which brings me to the new seasonal event happening in Overwatch throughout August – the Summer Games. The event includes a lot, so let’s go over it.

overwatch_summer_games-1

If you’re a Overwatch veteran, then you know that you receive a Loot Box every time you level up – or you can just buy them (but where is the fun in that after your hard work for playing endless hours?). Well, with this new event, there are also Summer Games themed boxes. Sadly, this doesn’t mean you can buy or receive Summer Games themed loot boxes all on their own – nope, these boxes have a mixture of just normal items too. But these items range from Olympic-themed outfits, victory poses (including medals), sprays, icons and intros and game of the game animations.

maxresdefault (1)

I’ve seen a few videos on it already and there are some pretty good items that I want. But just when you thought it couldn’t get any better, there’s a new Brawl mode – Lúcioball. If you don’t know, Lúcio is a support character on rollerblades and loves music – so much so that when you’re near him, you can hear music playing which differs on his current ability, i.e. whether he is healing or giving a speed boost. In Lúcioball you only play as Lúcio in a Rocket League themed mini-game – it’s your objective to score as many goals in a football (soccer) game using his Sonic Amplifier and other abilities.

3103586-ow_lucioball_comp-01_png_jpgcopy

Once again, Blizzard has amazed me with Overwatch. Needless to say that I’ll be investing some time into the Summer Games with the Rio Olympics. You never know – there may even be a video or two on a certain someone’s YouTube channel…

overwatch-summer-games-910x420

Did I also mention gold medals?


  • To get a taste of the Overwatch Summer Games, take a look at this video to see previews of items such as skins, victory poses, highlight intros and more.
  • Click here to watch a brief video going over everything I just explained.

Thanks for reading, hope you enjoyed! As always, take care until next week!

One comment

  1. PlayerOneTyler · August 8, 2016

    Awesome post! I’m loving Lucioball, as well. In fact, I love all of the content they’re releasing for the Rio Olympic Games! I need that Lucio skin! I just hope they bring it back next year if I don’t get everything this year. D:

    I’m actually the Community Content Manager for NowLoading.co, and I would be thrilled if you considered cross posting your stuff to our platform. If you don’t know much about us- we’re the sister site to MoviePilot.com, and push to give awesome writers (like yourself) the exposure they deserve. Feel free to email me! tyler@nowloading.co

    Like

Leave a Reply

