Captain America: Civil War Review

[WARNING OF SPOILERS AHEAD. PLEASE DO NOT READ IF YOU NOT WATCHED THE MOVIE, BUT PLAN TO. OTHERWISE, ENTER AT YOUR OWN RISK. THANK-YOU]

Despite doing only one movie review, I’ve decided to change the structure a bit: basically, I’ll give a brief synopsis; then my 5 reason why I enjoyed the movie; then 5 reasons why I didn’t movie followed by my overall conclusion. Clear? Good, let’s get on with it.


Captain-America-Civil-War-Key-Art

Usually you have a favourite character when it comes to comic books, but I can never a definite favourite (maybe that’s a list for another time). It goes the same for the Avengers – I like them all for different reasons, but they all stand equally in my eyes. Captain America is the level-headed one; Iron Man the cool and comic relief one; Thor is a god and Hulk…well, he’s the Hulk. And yes, I know – these aren’t all of the Avengers, but I don’t want to spoil things for the future. Needless to say I have enjoyed all the Avengers stand alone movies (apart from the Hulk, but that’s many because there hasn’t been one with Mark Ruffalo, goddammit).

So of course, I went to see Captain America: Civil War not just for Cap, but also the other Marvel characters.

Captain America: Civil War takes place a year after The Avengers: Age of Ultron. Cap (played by Chris Evans) – now working with some of the some of the other Avengers, such as Black Widow (Scarlet Johansson), Falcon (Anthony Mackie) and the Scarlet Witch (Elizabeth Olsen) in Lagos to stop Brock Rumlow, only after Rumlow kills himself to avoid capture, the Scarlet Witch accidentally kills several Wakandan humanitarian workers in a nearby building. This leads to world nationally being divided about the role of superheroes – some want the heroes to carry on as usual with saving people but destruction in their wake; others want them to have restriction. This leads to a UN to have a conference in Vienna that also goes pear-shaped and dividing the Avengers – Cap has faith in his own abilities, while Iron Man (Robert Downing Jr.) thinks the UN is right and it’s just a part of the process of being a hero (and some persuasion from a mother still saddened by her son’s death – it’s a long story). And as is if this wasn’t enough on Cap’s plate, his childhood friend Bucky AKA the Winter Solider (Sebastian Stan) is the prime suspect for bombing the Vienna UN meeting. So, Cap has to clear his friend’s name and save the world once more.

What’s the biggest question? Who’s side was I on? What did I like about the movie? What didn’t I like about the movie? Well, I can answer two of those questions.

My Top 5 Reason Whys I Enjoyed Captain America: Civil War:

#5. The CGI was Really Good

Iron-Man-in-Avengers

I’m a girl who likes special effects, don’t get me wrong, but sometimes I feel some movies use it too much. Thankfully Civil War was not one of those movies. The amount used was good but the quality was really good – there is a particular scene with Tony Stark giving a presentation to MIT students about his new invention of being about the actually watch past memories. In the memory that he shared, he was just before his parents died – making him a young adolescent. But he looked really good – I almost thought Robert Downing Jr. really had travelled back in time just for that scene for this movie.

Spiderman also had some CGI, but it was not as good as the young Tony Stark scene. Sorry.

#4. Stan Lee’s Cameo

Premiere+Marvel+Captain+America+Civil+War+YXgpMWaCAw8l

Stan Lee is a true legend and by that I mean that he actually appears in many of the comic book adapted movies. My favourite is a tie between him being reject at the wedding in The Fantastic Four: Rise of the Silver Surfer and being a DJ at a strip club in Deadpool. But this one comes to a close second – near the end of the movie, Stark receives a ‘mysterious’ package and how is the delivery man? Fucking Stan Lee, FedEx Driver Extraordinaire. Not only that, he refers to Stark as ‘Tony Stank’, much to Rhodie’s (Don Cheadle) amusement.

#3. The Plot

captain-america-civil-war

It’s a simple ‘I-have-to-clear-the-previous-movie’s-bad-guy’s-name-because-he-was-my-best-friend-back-in-the-day’ plot with a bit of revenge and ‘super-heroes-are-not-perfect’ kinda thing. Yet it wasn’t too simple that it got boring and I would have complained about seeing it a hundred times before.

#2. The Characters

that-character-death-in-captain-america-civil-war-will-make-you-cry-in-the-best-way-959075

Despite being a Captain America movie, it wasn’t just focused on him and the other characters in his posse (i.e Falcon and Black Widow) – Scarlet Witch got involved but it also gave a little more depth to Tony Stark, I felt. There were a few scenes that were purely Iron Man, but it was good to have a little change up.

And of course, this was the first movie to have Spiderman appear in it after Andrew Garfield’s previous portrayal. Honestly, I thought this Spiderman was going to be awful after I enjoyed Toby Maguire and Andrew Garfield, but I was pleasantly surprised of how much I enjoyed Tom Holland as Spiderman. Maybe a little bit too much jokey, but still enjoyable.

Captain-America-Civil-War-Spider-Man-Shield-Official

Marvel’s Captain America: Civil War Spider-Man/Peter Parker (Tom Holland) Photo Credit: Film Frame © Marvel 2016

Oh yeah, Black Panther and Ant Man were cool too.

#1. The Action

Oh. My. God. The action and fighting choreography was so good – so good, I would go as far to say it has been the best in any Marvel movie so far. It was tight, clever and overall just awesome. And not just for one or two scenes – for every scene. And for every character. I don’t think I can say anymore really, apart from if you don’t believe me, go back and watch the trailer – that short sequence between Cap, Bucky and Stark with the shield is so goddamn cool and perfect.

2EC9EDE200000578-3333050-image-m-87_1448438905974

Of course, with every movie, there come some negative things. Here are the Top 5 Reasons Why I Didn’t Like Captain America: Civil War:

#5. The Lack of Characters

marvel-civil-war-1

In the actual comic of Civil War, many members of the Marvel universe turned up to the face off between Steve and Tony, yet in this movie it was underplayed by only having 5 vs 5. I understand that it would take time and money to cast actors for the other Marvel characters, and without many of them having planned films, it would probably be unfavourable. But still, maybe mention a few? Thor and Hulk don’t count.

#4. Bucky

78b0c03ffaaadfefc5077dc7e9cbe878-626x360

I get that Bucky is a important character in Captain America, yet I felt his was truly portrayed in this movie – he was only serious or funny-serious. That’s it. And the whole thing about him about being an assassin that suddenly remembering that he was Steve Rodger’s best friend just felt…off. It wasn’t fully explored as much as I would have liked. Still, Sebastian Stan didn’t do as bad as a job as January Jones in X-Men (it’s a Marvel movie, I’m allowed to take a stab at her).

#3. The ‘Love Interest’

emily-vancamp-captain-america-civil-war-pic

Cap and Peggy Carter will always belong together, no matter what. Naturally, it was sad that she died (that moment when he’s carrying her coffin…who knew Captain America would have such a soft heart). But then appears her niece, Sharon. Who has never been mentioned and or seen before until the funeral. Then suddenly, she’s the new love interest for Steve (after everything that happened with Natasha and the Hulk..argh). Granted, she’s the head of the Terrorism Unit (basically, she’s a agent too) and kicks some serious butt in the movie, but Peggy just died for goodness sake. Also, she’s not British.

#2. Too Much ‘Revenge’

baron-zemo-179756

I know earlier I said that I enjoyed the plot and I did – I just didn’t enjoy the revenge side of everything. T’Challa (Black Panther, played by Chadwick Boseman) wants revenge on Bucky because he ‘killed’ his father King T’Chaka (John Kani) at the UN meeting. Stark wants revenge on Bucky after learning that he was the one who killed his parents all that time ago). And Zemo (Daniel Bruhl, the main bad guy of the movie) wants revenge on the Avengers for killing his family during The Age of Ultron. It’s just too much really.  Poor Bucky.

#1. The Scarlet Witch’s Accent

jwT2FWl

Was I the only one who noticed that her accent seemed to switch from American to Russian or whatever it was in each scene? I get that she now spends more time with the Avengers after Age of Ultron, but it affect her accent that much?

Oh, and don’t get me started on Martin Freeman’s American accent. Why, just why?

Captain-America-Martin-Freeman

My overall conclusion is that it was a brilliant and a must-see for fans of comic books and Marvel (or the like) movies. While I will not agree with some reviews stating that it is the most Marvel movie so far (*cough*Deadpool*cough*), it is one of the best and I would happily buy on DVD when it’s released.  The action is mind-blowing, the story is good and even some of the humour has been improved.

Rating: 8.5/10


Thanks for reading, hope you enjoyed. Feel free to leave likes and comments. Take care until next time!

Captain+America-+Civil+War

Leave a Reply

