My Dissertation got Published!

Now, I’m not being bigheaded and declaring the dissertation I worked my arse off for deserves to be seen by all eyes – it is actually relevant to gaming.

I went to the University of Brighton in the UK in September 2012 and graduated in July this year with a 2:2, which I was extremely happy with. I studied English Language and Media for those three years, along with module options. Our first year ones where chosen for us (we had Digital Media which meant, in a small team, we had to set up and record our own TV show in the studio. We did a parody of the TV show Most Haunted. Second semester was some English Language thing that I don’t really remember). But, during my second year, I had a module on Video Games and was taught by the amazing Dr Esther MacCallum-Stewart. So, when ideas came around for my dissertation, I decided to do something within the video games area as I felt it hadn’t really been covered in the scholarly area. So I chose – surprise, surprise, – the sexualisation of Lara Croft from the Tomb Raider series.

So, why am I telling you this? Well, after many long months (since late June/early July), I finally managed to get it published online! So, if you’d like to take a look, here’s the link:

http://arts.brighton.ac.uk/study/literature/brightonline/issue-number-six/lara-croft-pixelated-object-or-feminist-gaming-icon

Bare in mind – this is an edited down version of said dissertation (it’s around 8, 000 words, whereas my original was closer to 12, 000). But I’ve proud of it, so feel free to take a look! Let me know what you think too. Thank-you for taking the time to read my ramblings and my scholarly scribbles (if you have done so).

See you next Saturday!

65927a8013a2c54945af7fc62883e05d08692cf6ea1c99119a193e416c348464

Leave a Reply

