Minecraft Story Mode

Minecraft-_Story_Mode_characters

You’ve heard of Minecraft, right? I mean, it’s one of the best selling games around. Since 2009, it’s caused phenomena around the gaming industry and today is sold on practically every platform (apart from Nintendo). So, it’s almost natural that Telltale – the company behind amazing games such as The Wolf Among Us, The Walking Dead, Game of Thrones (yes, really!) and (most recently) Tales from the Borderlands – want to make an episodic game from Minecraft too. And they have.

When I first heard about this (more like saw – FyreUK uploaded a video of the announcement), I’ll admit I had my doubts. An episodic adventure about Minecraft? Surely Minecraft‘s been done enough already? Also – one major issue (sort of) – is that Minecraft is a sandbox game, not a game that tells a story. Or, at least, not in the conventional way that, say The Last of Us or Middle-Earth: Shadow of Mordor does.

So, a trailer for this clash of Mojang and Telltale was released last week on the Telltale YouTube channel. It’s short and I’ll be honest, it doesn’t tell you very much. It reveals the characters within the game – 5 to be exact: Jesse (the main character), Petra, Axel, Lucas and Olivia (also there’s a pig involved, but that’s a minor detail). Not much is known about the plot apart from the gang of friends turn up to an event called EnderCon (poking fun at MineCon maybe?) where something bad happens, and it’s up to Jesse and friends to save the world (potentially). Much like Telltale’s previous games, it’ll be a episodic game (how many episodes we don’t know yet) that allows the player to make choices that impact the game’s storyline.

While I was a little unsure that this game would appeal to me, I have to admit that I am a little intrigued. But that doesn’t mean I’m going to go out and buy it straight away. Most likely I’ll watch a Let’s Play to see how it goes. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy Minecraft a lot, and Telltale have released some awesome games (aside from Jurassic Park *shudders*), the animation looks good from the trailer (if you enjoy watching short Minecraft animated shorts on YouTube, then it’s similar to that), plus Patton Oswalt and Ashley Johnson (she gets everywhere, I swear) provide their voice talents for this game.

If you’re looking for a game that explains the world of Minecraft or gives you the origins behind Steve and Alex, then sadly Minecraft Story Mode is not it. To me, this game looks…interesting, but as I mentioned before, I’ll probably watch a Let’s Play before buying it myself. I do have every hope that this game will not disappoint the Minecraft community though. After all, they have a large weight on their shoulders from fan expectations.

The release date for Minecraft Story Mode has yet to be announced, but it will be sometime this year.

  • Watch the trailer here.
  • See the announce for yourself here (and play it too, just click on Info Quest II).
4 comments

  1. martysaunders1985 · July 13, 2015

    It is indeed a fun story to refer to. But it is just a story or a gameplay to try?

    Like

    • gamerangel301 · July 15, 2015

      I think you’re asking if there’s a demo or something before it’s released, right? If that’s the case, then no, there is no demo or the ability to try gameplay before it’s released. Telltale sadly don’t do that. Plus, there’s no release date yet. But with their games, there isn’t much gameplay as opposed to Minecraft itself (it’s usually just clicking and occasionally pressing other buttons) but I am interested in the story behind it. How they’ll tell it, I’m not sure, but I’m interested in how they’ll do it.

      Like

  2. minecraftunlocked · July 13, 2015

    watched the trailer! it seems interesting, definitely play it once it’s released.

    Like

    • gamerangel301 · July 15, 2015

      I have no doubt some YouTubers will play it so I’m going to watch that first before making a decision. I’ll admit I do have a soft spot for Minecraft & Telltale games. The one thing I don’t like about this game though is that it probably won’t offer as much freedom and creativity as Minecraft itself does. Still, it looks interesting!

      Like

Leave a Reply

