E3 2015

I know – I’m just under a month late for a round-up of E3 but I still wanted to talk about it. Sadly, I didn’t get to go (I’m British, so it would cost a lot to get there for three days) but I kept my eye on gaming websites, YouTube and Polaris. Personally, I think last year’s E3 was lot better (Nintendo amazed me to no end) but I think that was mainly because of new gen consoles and games, so there was a lot more to be hyped about. Still, that doesn’t mean I don’t think E3 did well this year. I definitely think they did a great job (as always) and their roster was long and interesting.

So, let’s list off the games I’m really excited for from E3 and maybe have a closer look at some of my favourites.


My Electronic Entertainment Expo 2015 Selection:

  • Call of Duty: Black Ops III (Activision)
  • Destiny: The Taken King (Activision)
  • Project X Zone 2 (Namco)
  • Doom (Bethesda)
  • Fallout 4 (Bethesda)
  • Street Fighter V (Capcom)
  • Mass Effect: Andromeda (EA)
  • Mirror’s Edge: Catalyst (EA)
  • Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain (Konami)
  • Halo 5: Guardians (Microsoft)
  • Hyrule Warriors Legends (Nintendo)
  • Mario & Sonic at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games (Nintendo)
  • Mario Tennis: Ultra Smash (Nintendo)
  • Star Fox Zero (Nintendo)
  • Ratchet & Clank (Sony)
  • Hitman (Square Enix)
  • Kingdom Hearts III (Square Enix)
  • South Park: The Fractured But Whole (Ubisoft)
  • Batman: Arkham Knight (Warner Bros.)

So, which are my six most anticipated games of E3 2015? Let’s have a look:

#6 – Until Dawn (Sony/PS4)

until-dawn-generaljpg-e96e8e

Now, I’m not usually into horror games (I’ve been watching a lot of YOGSCAST Kim’s Fright Night playlist) but Until Dawn caught my eye when a trailer was released on Valentine’s Day earlier this year. It’s described as an adventure survival horror game which follows 8 teenagers who decide to stay at cabin together. Of course, like all stereotypical movies involving teens, not everything goes to plan when a serial killer crashes the party. The game allows to you to play as each character and even ‘decide’ who lives and who dies. The way this works is that, when the serial killer arrives (I assume as I’ve watched limited videos on it, so I can’t assume) the player is prompted with quick timed events (QTEs) to plan their escape.

Since E3, the PlayStation YouTube channel has released a video of  demo gameplay, which looks amazing (it’s PS4, what do you expect?). But one thing I noticed when I watched it (I had my suspicions when I watched the trailer for the first time) is that the teenagers within this game look like their voice actors – most noticeable probably are Hayden Panettiere from Heroes (spoiler, she only wears a towel in the demo video) who plays Sam and Rami Malek who plays Josh (he was in Night at the Museum and the Twilight Saga). It’s also been said that the player may have to complete the game more than once as the story (I’m assuming the story behind the serial killer is what they mean) will not make sense. To me, that was the selling point – I need to know why the serial killer is the way he (or she) is.

Until Dawn will be released August 26th (EU).

  • Watch the Valentine’s Day trailer here.
  • Watch the demo gameplay here.
  • Watch the latest trailer here.

#5 – Assassin’s Creed Syndicate (Ubisoft/PC, PS4, Xbox One)

acs-gi-bg1-new

I haven’t played much of the Assassin’s Creed games (I’ve mainly watched Let’s Plays) and the reason why this game is quite far down the list is mainly because of it’s previous game Unity. I won’t drone on about it too much but essentially I feel that Unity was released too soon for the engine it was using (which was AnvilNext in case you were wondering). Despite this, I have high hopes that now, with Syndicate having more time, that it won’t be as buggy as Unity.

Still, Syndicate seems to be the game that Assassin’s Creed fans have been asking for. Syndicate is set in Victorian London (1868 to be precise) which follows twins (two protagonists, yes!) Jacob and Evie Fyre. The player is able to switch between the two and they each have different abilities. Jacob is said to be a brawler who uses brass knuckles and kukri knife (hell yeah) while Evie is much more stealthy (plus the bonus of being a playable female protagonist for Assassin’s Creed, apart from Shao Jun from Chronicles, which sadly is a spin-off rather than main game). Along with the new combat system from Unity, the game now includes a rope launcher which allows players to create zip lanes for add stealth-iness. And you get to drive carriages. Sadly, not much has been revealed about the plot apart from the usual – Templars show up so the Creed has to kick their butts.

Assassin’s Creed Synidcate will be released 23rd October.

  • Watch the trailer here.

#4 – Star Wars Battlefront (EA/PC, PS4, Xbox One)

header-star-wars-battlefront-preview-trailer-e3-2013

I feel bad for putting this quite low on the list but my top three choices were hard. Anyway, let’s talk about Star War Battlefront. Well, actually there’s not much to say apart from that if you have played the previous Star War Battlefront games, that it hasn’t changed much apart from the graphics looking nicer and you can play in some new environements. If you haven’t however – first off, where have you been your entire life? – and secondly, it’s essentially a game where you choose Rebel or Imperial and fight it out on the battlefield. Complete with laser noises and light saber sounds from the movies. What more could you want? I don’t know, maybe play as Darth Vader or Luke Skywalker? Yep, that’s been kept in too (since the second game anyway). Who knows, maybe we’ll even see a few new characters from The Force Awakens (but not likely due to spoilers).

Star Wars Battlefront will be released 20th November (EU).

  • Watch the reveal trailer here.
  • Watch gameplay from the E3 event here.

#3 – Battleborn (2K Games/PC, PS4, Xbox One)

2kgmktbattleborntempartworkhorizontal

The makers of the amazing game series Borderlands have been working on a new project – Battleborn. This game is similar to Borderlands (the first and second game I’ve completed recently for the first time, still working on getting my hands on Pre-Sequel and Tales from Borderlands) in that it’s a first-person shooter game complete with multi-player elements, i.e. you can player with more than one person and they can also drop out at anytime. Battleborn will have 25 characters to choose from (which is a huge leap from the standard 4 in Borderlands) which have various abilities, including one character using a bow and arrow as their primary weapon and another using a katana. However, this game will also include multiplayer online arena, meaning you can challenge other players online. While I struggled with Borderlands, I still enjoyed it much more than I expected to, so hopefully Battleborn will be just as good, but different in it’s own right (I still want Borderlands 3, dammit!). Also, it is unknown if Battleborn will have RPG-elements like Borderlands. Guess we’ll have to wait and see.

The release date for Battleborn has yet to be announced.

  • Watch the reveal trailer here.

#2 – Final Fantasy VII (Remake) (Square Enix/PS4)

FFVIIRemake

I know, I know, I’m sorry! How can the remake be only my second most anticipated game from E3? I think mainly because not much as been said about it. Then again, it’s a remake – what more is there to say?

Whenever you ask someone who enjoys the Final Fantasy series which is their favourite game, 9 times out of 10 they’ll answer 7 (if not, you shouldn’t remain friends with them. Unless they say 8, which was also pretty good. But 7’s better, in my opinion at least). Final Fantasy VII follows Cloud Strife, Tifa Lockheart, Aerith Gainsborough and Barrett Wallace who make up a group called AVALANCHE (FFVII also includes my favourite Final Fantasy character Zack Fair, but only minorly. Fortunately, he is the protagonist of Crisis Core, but don’t play that game unless you’re ready to cry your eyes out. He also appears in Kingdom Hearts Birth by Sleep.) AVALANCHE are a group of eco-terrorists who end up having to stop the evil antagonist Sephiroth. But, the majority of gamers have played FFVII (at least ones I have met), so I won’t say too much about the plot. Since it’s announcement, a short trailer has been released. Granted, it doesn’t tell you or show you much about the game but who doesn’t want to see Cloud Strife in a new-gen game?

The released date for Final Fantasy VII (Remake) has yet to be announced (but it better be soon. Final Fantasy X HD can only entertain me so much.)

  • Watch the (short) trailer here.

#1 – Rise of the Tomb Raider (Microsoft/Xbox 360, Xbox One – so far)

Rise_of_the_tomb_raider

I’ll be honest, had I not seen the trailer for this game a few months ago, I won’t have put it at the number one spot. Mainly because of the way Tomb Raider fans have been treated since the announcement of this game. If you haven’t heard, back at the Gamescom 2014 event, it was announced that Rise of the Tomb Raider would be released only on Xbox. And understandably, fans became outraged. Hell, I was outraged. Then later, they tried to make amends but saying it would only be a ‘timed exclusive’, but still. It’ll take another year for PlayStation users to get their hands on this game – despite the original Tomb Raider series being released on PlayStation. But I’m a sucker for Lara Croft and after seeing trailers and gameplay, my mind was changed (but my rage only calmed slightly).

Rise of the Tomb Raider is the sequel to Tomb Raider (2013), which was reviewed and regarded highly in the gaming world. I’ll put my hands up and say that I’ve completed the game at least ten times now (wait until I get my hands on the Definitive Edition, I’ll never leave my room again). So of course, I was naturally excited that Square Enix announced shortly after Tomb Raider (2013)’s released that a sequel was in the mix. When telling my friends this (one of them has completed it while the other still has yet to complete it, I think), they were excited too. Well, actually, one of my friends ‘complained’ about the title of the game. I argued that it was pretty good consisting the fact that Tomb Raider (2013) shows the unskilled and vulnerable side of Lara Croft, and Rise of the Tomb Raider shows her slowly developing to her badass self – like a journey. At least, that’s what I thought. Anyway, Rise of the Tomb Raider follows Lara travelling to Siberia for the lost city called Kitezh as they search for answers about immortality. However, an organisation called Trinity is out to stop Lara (and Jonah from the previous game) who have links back to Yamatai (where the previous game took place). While the bow and arrows still remain (I was so glad) and puzzles return (they’re said to be harder this time around), the game also has more stealth elements and harsher environments (mainly snow).

The reason why I’ve put this game in the top spot is mainly because it seems as if it’s going to answer a lot of questions that I had after completing Tomb Raider (2013) – how did everyone hold up after leaving a murderous island? Will Lara become the tomb raider she is destined to be?

While I don’t condone Square Enix’s treatment of fans, I believe that they may make it up to us (somehow) through this amazing cinematic and iconic game series. At least that’s what I’m hoping for as a fan.

Rise of the Tomb Raider will be released 10th November (and hopefully soon afterwards for PlayStation users).

  • Watch the Gamescon reveal trailer here.
  • Watch the E3 teaser trailer here.
  • Watch gameplay footage here.

There we go – my review on E3 2015. If anyone is reading this, feel free to comment about agreeing/disagreeing my line-up – I enjoy hearing other people’s opinions in these matters. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

